Holby City: A welcome distraction

bernie ric holby(Series 18, ep. 22) I wasn’t going to review Holby City this week. I watched half the episode on Tuesday night as usual, but I couldn’t concentrate on it because my dad was in hospital. On Wednesday, he died. It wasn’t a shock and it wasn’t unexpected, but it’s always a shock and always unexpected when it’s your dad, isn’t it?

So I didn’t think I’d be reviewing Holby at all. Then I found myself watching the second half of the episode last night, because I wanted the distraction that only a high quality continuing drama can bring, and nothing fits that bill better than Holby. I still wasn’t able to concentrate much, though, so this isn’t going to be a proper review.

Was it just my befuddled state of mind or was it an odd episode? There was Ric having a bout of existential angst, but being as solid as a rock compared to Dominic, who was having a bout of post-Lee weepiness. A strange new character in the form of the tea making Sir Dennis Hopkins-Clarke had been parachuted in to whip Darwin from under Mo’s nose. Is he permanent? And it looks like Serena has got herself a proper keeper in the form of that policeman Robbie, who was thrilled to meet nephew Jason, possibly because he shares his love of lurking on AAU for no good reason. And I love Bernie Wolfe’s hair, and her gorgeous Redgrave voice.

I’m afraid my blogging is going to be a bit all over the place or non-existent in the next few weeks, but I hope you’ll understand.

18 Comments

Filed under Holby City

18 responses to “Holby City: A welcome distraction

  1. UlrikeH

    So sorry for your loss. Don’t worry about being (a) perfect (blogger). Weep when you need to and talk when you want to.
    Ulrike xx

  2. Very sorry to hear about your loss. We do look forward to your reviews eagerly (particularly after the farcical Casualty this week) but totally understand…

  3. Dawn Hiles

    Grateful for anything under the circumstances Sue. Thank you for this. Even your short review is very welcome. Take care of yourself and do what you need to xx

  4. Eilis

    I’m so sorry, Sue. I’ve been busy this week and missed your news on Twitter. My very best to you and your family. Take care. xx

  5. I’m sorry to hear about your father. Real-life hospitals are a lot less fun than Holby. Take all the time you need.

  6. Really sorry to hear about your dad. Take care x

  7. Collins1965

    So sorry for your loss, Sue. Mind yourself and go easy.

    Denise

  8. babsmorley

    So sorry, Sue. Even if not unexpected, It’s a shock to the system and can knock you for six. Dip in and out of here as it suits you – sometimes even the daftest (sorry HC and Cas…) distractions can help. Take care of yourself.

  9. holbybunners

    Sorry for your loss Sue .. Be kind for yourself ..
    HB

  10. wiggles

    So sorry for your loss. Remember to take care of yourself and to let others do the same!

    Hugs.
    J

  11. Thank you babsmorley, holbybunners and wiggles xxx

Leave a Reply

