Doctor Who (8.6): It’s not me, it’s you

dw the caretakerFor a while I did wonder if the cooling of my relationship with Doctor Who was a case of “it’s not you, it’s me”, but The Caretaker has convinced me that this rough patch isn’t because I’ve got bored, started seeing another show or set the bar of my expectations too high.

God knows, I love the Doctor and I love Peter Capaldi but while the rest of the show is the equivalent of never doing the washing up, making snide remarks about your best friend and leaving dirty socks in the middle of the kitchen floor, I’m going to keep looking at the door and wondering if one day I’ll walk out and never come back.

My problems with Doctor Who at this moment:

  • The Doctor isn’t likeable. I don’t need him to be loveable and I don’t need to like him all the time, but he has to be likeable most of the time. If they’re aiming to make him mercurial, they should put more emphasis on “unpredictable” and less on “inconsistent”. Also they need to stop giving Peter Capaldi Matt Smith’s old lines. He’s a wonderful actor, so much more than a pair of eyebrows (and, yes, the emphasis on making fun of actors’ physical features has worn beyond thin and into threadbare) and needs to be given a proper voice of his own.
  • Danny and Clara. I’m just not buying their relationship. I’ve seen nothing that makes me care whether they’re together or not. (Robbie Lewis and Laura Hobson conjure up more romantic tension in a two-minute professional encounter over a corpse (in Lewis) than Danny and Clara can manage in an entire episode.) I’m with the Doctor in seeing more chemistry between Adrian and Clara than Danny and Clara – which still isn’t saying much.

My problem with The Caretaker is that those two problems are no longer in the background, mixed in with adventure and aliens and peril and plot, they are front and centre – with the alien threat little more than an excuse to make all this happen. I spent 45 minutes sloping from bored to infuriated, with little detours into contentment when Courtney and the Doctor interacted. Oh, and I perked up for Chris Addison and the trailer for next week’s episode.

Here’s hoping I can find something nice to say next week…

Posted by Jo the Hat

 

2 Comments

Filed under Dr Who

2 responses to “Doctor Who (8.6): It’s not me, it’s you

  1. Tim

    I understand where you’re coming from, but I have to say I rather enjoyed The Caretaker, simply because I can now see Danny as a genuine rival to the Doctor for a place in Clara’s life and I’m invested in the mystery in his past that keeps quietly ticking over in the background and was gently moved on a couple of steps here. It may not pay off fully (as has been the case in pretty much every season so far) but I’m enjoying Capaldi (obviously), Jenna (surprisingly) and the way that this year’s stories are being (for the most part) loosely tied in to the season arc without being overwhelmed by it.

    The Skovox Blitzer was a bit crap, though, as killing machines go. Problem. Solution. Failure. But then it was basically just a MacGuffin, wasn’t it?

  2. Wiggles

    I actually started to like the doctor just a wee bit this week – it was (only) the mention of him sulking, by living with otters (as you do!) after an argument with River that did it. So, it might have been more the memory of past glories (I do love Alex Kingston) than the present that did it for me, but it’s a start.
    Also, I do like Danny, and him and Clara together works OK for me. Do hope he gets to prove that he is a BRILLIANT maths teacher to the Doctor at some point! And I know the Doctor doesn’t like soldiers but this incarnation does seem particularly prejudiced (or perhaps I’ve just got my rose-tinted glasses on remembering Matt and David?).
    Agree about Robbie and Laura by the way (and was inordinately pleased to see that Lewis is coming back soon on an advert last night)

Leave a Reply

