Waterloo Road: The return of the giant broccoli

waterloo road(Series 8, Ep.21)  Back we go to Waterloo Road, refreshed after the holidays. Sian Diamond has gone, and Cockney Lorraine has replaced her as Deputy Head with girlfriend Nikki Boston. It is her school, after all, so she doesn’t have to go through boring stuff like a proper recruitment procedure. Though Lorraine’s accountant has spotted that there’s not a lot of money to be made in a school (unless you’re Barry Barry and have sidelines in drugs and nicked cars) and has advised her to dump it. Lorraine, however, isn’t just in it for the money. She has a Vision, and like Michael Byrne she wants to do her best for the people they both insist on referring to as These Kids. If it comes down to a contest between These Kids and her Ferrari, though, she’s going to have a tough decision on her hands.

Grantly Budgen needs a new kidney, and Maggie the Dinner Lady isn’t a suitable match. He is therefore currently undergoing regular dialysis at home, which is the front bedroom of the boarding house for troublesome teens. As if the troublesome teens don’t have enough to worry about already.

The thing worrying Connor and Emo Imogen is how Jane Beale is going to take the news that they’re already married. They weren’t the most worried pupils this week, though. That would be problem-pupil-of-the-week Fergal Doherty, pursued by the father of his ex girlfriend who died of something drugs-related, and making ends meet by getting Harley off his head on something potent and unspecified. Dear, innocent Harley was only saved from a long drop off the school roof by the swift intervention of someone the teacher with the pointy face picked up in Africa.

Kacey Barry, meanwhile, has decided she wants to be called Robbie (“Robbie Barry” has a certain swagger to it, I agree) and use the boys’ toilets. Barry’s not happy about this, and Tom Clarkson has suggested the unisex teachers’ toilets as a compromise. I’m not sure who the unisex teachers are, but it’s kind of them to let Robbie/Kacey use their toilets.

The most exciting thing for me this week was spotting that there’s a giant sculpture of broccoli (and other veg) above the canteen door. It was only glimpsed briefly, but from now on I’m going to be on broccoli-watch to see if it reappears again. It would have gone so nicely with the W of pie from Series 6.

Posted by PLA          (More Waterloo Road here)

10 Comments

Filed under Waterloo Road

10 responses to “Waterloo Road: The return of the giant broccoli

  1. Martin Rosen

    Why would ‘Robbie’ wish to use the Gents? Maybe to make a point? After all s/he doesn’t have the ‘equipment’ to use the urinals and can’t pee up the wall with the other boys!!!!!!!!

    Would the teacher-with-the-pointy-face have her friend from holiday come and visit her at work? Would he then rescue a kid that is about to jump off a roof? All very strange!

    • pauseliveaction

      Martin, “strange” is the default setting of Waterloo Road, but I agree that having random visitors to the school able to access all areas is a bit odd. As for “Robbie”‘s toilet choices, if Kacey wants to be a he, I suppose it’s natural to use the boys’ facilities, which feature sit-down cubicles as well as urinals.

  2. remotecontrolled (kopitron)

    Good old Waterloo Road. I am liking sober Christine more now but my dislike for Byrne still makes me cringe with their relationship.

    What is it with The Curse Of The Troublesome Teens for Dinner Ladies at Waterloo Road? Rose, [Bolton’s Mum – name escapes me] and now Teresa. Just waiting for Maggie’s to appear. I was hoping there’d be some revelation about Fergal’s brother and it was going to be a stretched out story but it does look rather like a guest-pupil as you say. Fingers crossed this series is like the last with more of the exciting stories being permanent characters rather than guest-pupil format of the other recent years.

    I may have to rewatch to find this broccoli.

    • remotecontrolled (kopitron)

      Oh and I still can’t contain my laughter at Audrey being The Teacher With The Pointy Face. Every time you get me with that.

    • pauseliveaction

      The broccoli makes its debut appearance at 14:10 http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b01s9c0v/Waterloo_Road_Series_8_Episode_21/ I’m hoping it’ll feature more heavily in future. Nothing livens a show up like over-sized food items.

      And in other good news, apparently Michael Byrne is leaving soon. My fantasy new headmaster would be Luke Roberts (Joseph Byrne from Holby).

      • remotecontrolled (kopitron)

        I’m afraid I know the spoilers regarding this subject so I will refrain from sharing my opinion.

        All I will say though is that I’m afraid eye-candy-wise we are to be disappointed as Jack Rimmer is not returning, nor his dimples.

      • pauseliveaction

        Sigh. No Jack Rimmer either? I suppose a return of Bob the Builder is also out of the question?

      • remotecontrolled (kopitron)

        I see it – from now on I will be on permanent broccoli watch.

      • remotecontrolled (kopitron)

        Afraid so 😦 I best not say any more as I will give it away.

      • pauseliveaction

        DM me on Twitter – I want to know!

Leave a Reply

