Lustbox: Aidan Gillen

Aidan Gillen*inhales deeply from Inkface’s smelling salts* *puts the PLA fridge on standby*

So. Aidan Gillen. He’s been off my radar for some time what with being in things on Sky and The Wire (I tried it, honestly, but it didn’t grab me), but his appearance in Mayday was frankly the only thing that kept watching. I had forgotten what an incredible presence he has.

The man radiates dangerous sensuality from every pore. Not to mention a general air of knowing lots of somethings you don’t. Also, like princes of the Lustbox David Tennant and Rufus Sewell, he has excellent hair. It’s no surprise that his version of Phil Hendricks in Sky’s TV adaptations of Mark Billingham’s Tom Thorne novels isn’t shaven-headed.

It’s a mark of his extraordinary charisma that he made it possible to root for Stuart Alan Jones in Queer As Folk (NSFW), a man who (I suspect) even the most benevolent person could only describe as ‘deeply flawed’.

This is also, naturally, a consequence of being a very talented actor, and as we have testified in the Lustbox before, talent is incredibly sexy. His gift for intensity helps of course, as does that voice. Unlike a Scots accent, I can take or leave an Irish accent (I blame overexposure to James Nesbitt some years back), but I could listen to Aidan Gillen read the terms and conditions of an Adobe update. If I could be gazing into his mischievous eyes at the same time there’d be no hope of getting anything useful out of me for the rest of the day. Or week, probably.

Anyway, I’ll be in my bunk…

Posted by Jo the Hat

3 Comments

Filed under Lustbox

3 responses to “Lustbox: Aidan Gillen

  1. pauseliveaction

    Is he wearing scrubs in that photo? What are you trying to do to me, Ms Hat? A very worthy entrant to the Lustbox – and let’s not forget his turn as conniving über-pimp Petyr Baelish in Game of Thrones either.

  2. *innocent face* Is he in scrubs? I hadn’t noticed… mwah-ha-ha-ha-ha! I must get myself sorted with a Lovefilm subscription so I can see, first and foremost, Thorne and then GoT. Though I wasn’t sure about his facial hair in the GoT images Google threw up for him… I guess his conniving über-pimping more than make up for it!

  3. inkface

    Sorry for delayed reaction. I came over all funny and had to lie down for a couple of days. *sigh*. Not sure what else there is to say really? *lies down again*

Leave a Reply

