Holby City: Suck it up or get out

(Series 14, ep.45) Much of the episode revolved around Michael Spence’s attempts to convince Tiny George Binns that AAU was brilliant and efficient and that, but the non-referral scheme just doesn’t work. All he succeeded in doing was convincing Tiny George Binns that AAU was brilliant etc and the non-referral scheme worked beautifully and needed keeping. Bummer, as Michael Spence might say. George Binns is very amusing. He reminds me of Macaulay Culkin in Home Alone 2 – I keep expecting someone to suddenly clap heir hands to their cheeks in horror and yell, “We forgot George!”

As suspected last week, Best Nurse Eddi McKee has been trying to get over Dr Luc Hemingway by succumbing to the dubious charms of Dr Max “Wolfie” Schneider. I still find Wolfie visually appealing, but as a character he’s got nothing else to recommend him and frankly Eddi is showing all the taste and discernment of Early Chrissie – ie none. Oh, Luc, come back soon, please.

Dr Tara Lo was living on caffeine tablets to try and keep up with Jac Naylor’s demands. Jac wasn’t even there, but she’d left Tara with a mountain of work and a fear of failure to add to her usual work ethic and desperate need to please. It’s a powerful combination and something had to give. The thing was Tara, who ended up fainting and knocking a locker over. Oli was concerned, but Tara shrugged it off and then attempted to show just how perky and competent she was by attempting to take an arterial blood gas without the supervision of Oli or Elliott. Luckily, the patient didn’t die, though he did bleed like a stuck pig for a while. Adorably, Oli was going to take the blame – how contrary to his usual mode of behaviour – but all was well that ended well when Tara redeemed herself by spotting her patient had been full of cocaine.

On Keller, Chantelle proved for the umpteenth time that despite being sunny and cheerful and a bit ditzy sometimes, she’s a damn good nurse. Heartwarming etc, because I do love Chantelle, but I think we got that particular message a while back.

Next time: Michael takes drastic action; Serena clashes with Ric; and Jonny tries a bit of matchmaking for Mo.

Posted by PLA More Holby City here

13 Comments

Filed under Holby City

13 responses to “Holby City: Suck it up or get out

  1. holbylover819

    I loved the ‘refill the espresso machine’ line! 🙂

    I’m surprised how Hannsen and Tiny George didn’t realise that AAU is most definitely not coping but it will be interesting to see how long it will be until they try to hijack Darwin theatre or do something like that to convince Hannsen it’s not a good idea to have AAU doing operations Keller should.
    I thought Jonny and Ollie were funny and I feel like Jonny’s been in Holby long enough that I care about him; Mo’s baby storyline was great and so was the acting but I didn’t feel like I had known Mo long enough to care that much. It’s the same with Tara. She’s overeager because of her brain tumour but now we know she’s always been like that, “I locked myself in my room till I perfected it.” It’s just… I dunno like she’s been defined by her tumour.

    On a lighter note, I can’t wait to see what Jac makes of Tiny George!

  2. WaterlooVamps

    I had a dream last night about a perfect way for Luc to come back. Maybe I watch too much Holby.

    • pauseliveaction

      Do tell, WV.

    • holbylover819

      The weirdest dream I had was a cross of EastEnders and Mario Kart. It was crazy! But I never dreamt about Holby though.

    • inkface

      I’m picturing a dramatic return in an exciting new vehicle, a bit like the Mystery Machine in Scooby Doo, he crashes onto the ward & sweeps her away, to live forever on Scooby snacks and a lot of vodka.

      • Tara and Liffey N

        There’s a Scooby Doo mystery machine van near where we live! Sorry… had to say, it’s true! It’s like a van painted with all the mystery stuff on it…

  3. Mia66

    Hi PLA! I’ve been reading your reviews for almost a year now, so I decided it was time I left a comment, as they always make me smile. I can’t wait for Luc to come back, so he can save Eddi 😦 Please check out my Tara/Ollie fanfiction(http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8382746/1/Valentine).

  4. Tara and Liffey N

    Is it just me or is Eddi in EVERY recent episode whereas everyone else rotates round? I’m trying to think of the last time she had an episode off… Anyway, I want Luc back, Wolfie is evil >:) Ok, I might be getting a bit carried away but I still don’t like him!
    Tiny George Binns makes me laugh with his enthusiasm about such boring things and I liked the end when the paper aeroplanes fell on Michael’s car… He looked so confused!

Leave a Reply

