Kick ass women: Shirley Henderson

I’ve been enjoying Death in Paradise. It’s easy, light viewing and a bit Agatha Christie in approach, but Ben Miller is rather good in it, and the setting is so delightful, it feels like being bathed in glorious sunshine. You can feel your skin absorbing the vitamin D.

And now I’ve heard Shirley Henderson will be guest starring, there’s another fine reason to tune in. I loved many things about the BBC adaptation of The Crimson Petal and the White, but my favourite actor in it was Henderson. She’s quite a diminutive person, but whatever role she’s in, the character is portrayed powerfully enough to steal every scene. In The Crimson Petal, she played Mrs Fox, consumptive saviour of prostitutes, and the object of Mark Gatiss’s superbly wracked religious nut, Henry Rackham’s, constant lust. He played it, to misquote Colin Firth’s directions on how to play Mr Darcy, “as if walking around with an erection”.

She’s been in many things, and been wonderful in them, including Trainspotting and Hamish Macbeth. Plus she plays Moaning Myrtle in the Harry Potter films of course. Jo the Hat reminded me she snogged Rufus Sewell in The Taming of the Shrew (I hate that play, but it was difficult to hate this, because those two were in it). But it’s a sign of how much I like Henderson that I will even forgive her this.

Posted by Inkface

8 Comments

Filed under Kick ass women

8 responses to “Kick ass women: Shirley Henderson

  1. No wonder she looks familiar.. she’s moaning myrtle!

  2. .::Big.Bang::.

    She was also in a rubbish episode of Doctor Who in S2. Loved her as Myrtle but God! The scene with her and “Harry” was cringe-worthy in GoF, AKA Harry loves Ron. :)

  3. inkface

    Goblet of Fire! Don’t remember her in Dr Who. Didn’t think Moaning Myrtle her best work either TBH.

    • pauseliveaction

      I’ve not seen any of these things, but she has a nice face.

    • .::Big.Bang::.

      Yep, Goblet of Fire! Damn, my mind just went to the gutter thinking of Harry drinking from Ron’s GoF. ;)

      DW – it was about the guy who gets his face stuck in tile or something, I think. Matt Lucas was in it. I can’t remember much of S2 as I absolutely abhor it!

  4. For me Shirley Henderson totally overplayed it last night’s episode of Death in Paradise making her character completely unbelievable.

    Steve

  5. inkface

    I haven’t watched it yet, but that’s a shame. I don’t think she’s great as Moaning Myrtle either, so I guess she’s a bit of a curate’s egg of an actor.

Leave a Reply

