Daily Archives: November 22, 2011

The X Factor: Movie Week

Ohhh, Movie Week. In lots of ways, X Factor is kinda like a film. Maybe Ben Hur or summat. One of those super-long films you start watching and half way through you start looking for the exits and sizing up the risk of death if you were to jump out the window. This season is dragging, right? It’s not just me. At least in Movie Week the rules are pretty simple and the theme can’t really be put through some sort of “artistic” interpretation by the judges.

The British Buble

I’m sorry, did Craig HACTUALLY film a faux dream sequence with a straight face? The clips before the singing are getting weirder and weirder. A bus stop dream sequence – really?? Craig did his usual thing and sang well, but was a bit boring.  I think we all need to come to terms with the fact that he’s going to be the British Buble and leave it at that. He managed to sing Licence To Thrill and thrilled no one. Awks. This is probably why he got the boot after a painful sing-off with Amelia. The judges took it to deadlock but he must have known he was going, as he was pretty much crying from the moment it was announced he wasn’t going straight through to next week.

Janet took a risk and performed with five trees on stage and yes, every single one of them had more charisma than her. This whole, “I’m so different, it’s so hard for me to be pop” thing is getting on my last nerve. She isn’t that different. I could go on a quick walk down Camden high street and trip over at least 13 girls who want to be breathy, singer-songwriter types. This week she sang Kiss Me and did okay. I wasn’t moved at all. It sounded pretty much like the original to me.

Amelia Lily, the comeback kid, the people’s champion, the underdog. Well, she’s behaving like a wronged woman, isn’t she?  Saturday’s performance was all “look at me now, bitch!” and she was a little bit brilliant. I’m not sure she’s always in tune, but she just comes across really well and always banks a good performance. Tulisa said she’d never heard her song. Yeah, a judge on a music show said she’d never heard a massively popular song by Ms Aretha. God give me strength. I can allow her to piss about with themes, but saying she’s never heard Think? Good grief.   Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under X Factor