Strictly Come Dancing: *Everything* needs to be leaner

I must confess to experiencing Strictly ennui this week. How much of this is the result of watching Singin’ in the Rain on BBC2 this afternoon I can not say. Though as I sat transfixed by the glorious Gene Kelly (not to mention the brilliant Donald O’Connor and Debbie Reynolds) I knew I would be turning a more critical eye than ever on SCD.

But it’s not all Gene Kelly’s fault. I have to confess that I can no longer bear to watch the dull VTs of training and other loosely-related shenanigans or Bruce’s terrible and/or homophobic jokes. I am prepared to risk missing a nugget of TV gold if it means saving my brain from these horrors.

I am also beyond tired of the pantomime reaction from the audience to the judges’ (usually) constructive criticism. I’m surprised Len hasn’t snapped back at them before now to be honest.

And don’t get me started on Bruce perpetuating the myth that a straight man needs protecting from a gay man who finds him attractive. That’s a whole other blog post on its own.

These, then, are the things that I did enjoy this week:

  • Alex’s energy, though even I could see her kicks and flicks were not crisp enough *learned from the master face*
  • Twitterer @fionalaird’s comment on the lovely Audley, that he “basically stands around in time to the music”. I fear this will be his last week.
  • I’d pay to watch Harry make a microwave meal for two, so very happy with his Argentinian tango. I’m with Velocity Girl on predicting a place in the final for Harry.
  • Jason showing the audience why Craig’s on the panel – so that the celebrities can listen to constructive criticism and improve their performances.
  • Chelsee was lovely to watch, I’m hoping she makes it to the final as well.
  • Robin doing the Argentinian tango. What do you mean I’m supposed to be watching Anita Dobson? Robin’s mesmerising, and Anita’s not. No matter how good her legs look ‘for her age’.
  • The threesome in Holly’s training room. Brendan becomes infinitely less annoying when he’s dancing with Artem. (And yes, poor, brave Artem – the hottest man on the show, stuck on the sofa. Let us cross everything and hope he’s back on the dancefloor soon.)
  • Russell Grant looking like something out of Doctor Who this week in that sparkly yellow eyeshadow AND incorporating a costume change. Even if he did look like a giant Ferrero Rocher as Len phrased it.

I’m sorry to be such a grump, but truly Strictly could do worse than listen to the advice Craig would dish out to it: “Dahling, you went on too long, there’s too much padding. It needs to be crisper. And dump the doddery bigot who can’t read the teleprompter.”

Posted by Jo the Hat

3 Comments

Filed under Strictly Come Dancing

3 responses to “Strictly Come Dancing: *Everything* needs to be leaner

  1. Tabitha Ana

    I agree with you. For me this year SCD has lost its lustre. Over long in places, the vts irritate and serve no purpose. Methinks a change in the judging panel and/or the presenters. Whilst Sir Bruce is a national treasure I do not see the point of Tess who lacks the enthusiasm and joy of Claudia and Zoe. Harry and Chelsee for the final, bright young things who deserve to win.

  2. Nikki

    Here here!

    I must confess I’d never seen Singing in the Rain all the way through (or at all infact, bar the well-known number where he y’know, sings, in the rain ..) until yesterday, and I agree, it did upstage Strictly rather. Their tapdancing was amazing! And you could sit there and go “Ooh look. Bit of quickstep there. Oh, and that was an American Smooth if I ever saw one …!” at the film. Strictly’s educating!

  3. .::Big.Bang::.

    Bruce and Tess need to go.
    VTs are annoying, get rid of them too.
    Someone need’s to shut the audience up.
    Excluding introductions of the judges, band and dancers – SCD would only last for 12 minutes when there’s 9 contestants, and in-/de-crease with the number of contestants.
    I’m sick and tired of SCD taking up Merlin’s time slot as well.
    It’s pathetic.

Leave a Reply

